Episode 34: Jamie’s drawers of many colors

In this episode, we welcome guests Diane and Arlen Donald, who share with us their knowledge of Scotland’s wool industry, and the kilt. They join our read-along of Chapter 28: “Kisses and Drawers.” Are rereads more pleasurable than initial reads? What does a Scot really wear underneath his kilt? Also, Ginger tries to ship Jamie and Claire.

 

Diane’s Sites: Russet Lodge Knits  Etsy     Blogspot      Facebook

A Crofter’s Life in Shetland (clip 5) – A Crofter’s Wife

Source: ScotlandOnScreen.org.uk

Women’s Work: The first 20,000 years by Elizabeth Wayland Barber

Waulking songs are traditional Scottish folksongs sung by women as they were waulking wool.

Examples of waulking songs:

(1) http://vimeo.com/20467842

Singer: Kate Nicolson & friends while washing new tweed

Source: Wire Magazine, Recorded South Uist, 1970

(2) http://www.educationscotland.gov.uk/scotlandssongs/about/songs/worksongs/index.asp

Source: EducationScotland.gov.uk

Quarter day

Luckenbooth brooch

About outlanderpod

Ginger and Summer
This entry was posted in Interview, Outlander, Podcast, Read-along and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Episode 34: Jamie’s drawers of many colors

  1. Triss says:

    Hi, I don’t know if anyone will read this here…but I wanted to throw my comment out on it anyway. 🙂 I find it interesting how you commented on how you would’ve liked to know what you thought about the Outlander series on your first read through. Well, I’m a member of a Facebook group for Outlander fans in my state, and I am going through my first read through of the series all the while posting my (albeit semi-random) thoughts and feelings as I go through the entire series. It all began after I read some postings in the group about how they too were curious as to how a 1st time reader to the series would react. Since I’ve only officially completed “Outlander”, I started to type my POVs on the sections of the books as I started to read “Dragonfly In Amber”. I was suprised to see people not only want to read my thoughts but find them enjoyable. I just did it out of fun and, sort of, hold me accountable to finally finish “Dragonfly”. I didn’t have any plans to continue after I finished the book, but since I recieved some positive comments…I am now doing the same for “Voyager”. So after I heard your comment on the podcast, I was suprised that more people were curious as to how a 1st time reader thinks. I’ve been keeping my “Voyager” outlines (my two “Dragonfly” posting were awkward posts directly on FB), as I go along…(they are easier to keep as they are in Word format on my computer).

    As a 1st generation Korean-American, I am curious as to how other international readers think. My friend and I have discussions on this from time to time. For example how our views are a somewhat different on “Pride & Prejudice”. I understood the heavy burden of social class, marriage, and honor. Even reading the Outlander series, I completely sympathize with Jamie on how he is a laird and the responsibilities that come with it…but sometimes he just wants to be a “average joe”. Since I was very young, I was taught that life was all bound up in three things: Family, Honor, Duty. All of these started with a capital letter. 🙂 I wish that I could make such easy decisions or act more independently as my “American/Western” friends, but I couldn’t. All of my actions were tied to those three things. Coming from a smaller community of Koreans, what ever actions I did were talked about and disected…and reflected upon my entire family. So I wish I could discuss that, but I don’t know anyone who isn’t “American/Western” who has read the series in my area…though I’m sure there are people out there. I think people were also curious as to why this short Asian girl would want to travel to Ireland and Scotland (went to both places), especially to my family, as nearly all of those who do go (and went around with me) were there to trace their family roots. I am 100% sure I have no Irish or Scottish roots, and I went beyond the typical Asian reason for going to the UK…to see London. 🙂 My “Elders” even asked me: “What’s there for you to see beyond London?” I said: “A Lot.” 🙂

    Sorry for the long post. 🙂 Thanks for reading it. 🙂

    • outlanderpod says:

      Triss, thank you for your very thoughtful comment. I’m actually very interested to know how first-time readers think and feel as they are reading the story, and you have added yet another layer: cultural background. You are in the middle, no? You are very close to your parents’ culture, yet you are also in and of the American, Western culture. You sit in between or within these two. That is a fascinating, unique point of view!
      I like your description of being able to understand Jamie’s sense of honor, duty. Many people surely feel some sense of honor duty to “something,” but surely our modern sense of either word is different from that of not only another time, but another culture.
      Keep up your reading and note-taking! We’d love to read some of your thoughts 🙂 And of course, thank you for listening! ~G

  2. Triss says:

    Hi,

    You are correct, I’m constantly in the middle of two different cultures. As one of my fav profs used tell me, “why you were a little sociologist growing up.” If you’ve seen the movie “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”, it’s not too far from what I deal with. 🙂 For instance, I couldn’t do things my friends did like be a “Brownie/Girl Scout” because it conflicted with Korean school. Korean school was of high importance so I could communicate, but especially with my “future in-laws” and show them what a dutiful daughter I was. I was taught many things so that I, like Jamie’s sister, Jenny, will be able to run a household of my own…which might increase in responsiblity/importance depending on where in the family hierarchy and/or career my future spouse would be/have. Funny enough, at 5′ tall I’m not that far off from Jenny (physically and character personality wise). 🙂 So I would constantly wonder what it would be like not to have these little rules and protocals for everything…from walking into a home, addressing my elders, etc. We also bow down to our elders on certain holidays/events to show not only our deep respect but our fielty (just like the scene in Castle Leoch where people came in to show their fielty to Colum MacKenzie). Everyone and everything has their place. My entire life is filled with me observing and compare/contrast the smallest thing to big issues…I can’t help it.

    If you would like for me to pass on my random thoughts on “Voyager”, I can email them to you. Just let me know where to send them. Like I said they are in an outline format, and I tried to put them in order of chapters. I have settled on reading 6 chapters at a time…and about to finish chapter 24 (Claire’s Return to Craigh Na Dun), so I can type up and post my latest outline. You probably won’t find any really deep thoughts, but mostly randomness that pops into my brain as I read. I hear they are pretty entaining and humorous. Go figure. 🙂

    Thanks.

    • outlanderpod says:

      Triss, we’d love to have the chance to look at them! But ‘Voyager’ would be getting a little ahead of ourselves 😉 If you have and are willing to share your thoughts about your reading(s) of ‘Outlander,’ we’d love to read them. Especially from chapter 30, onward. We’re heading toward the end of the book. You can email us at outlanderpod at gmail dot com. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

